Call for Papers

HSCC 2013
16th International Conference on Hybrid Systems: Computation and Control
April 8-11, 2013
Philadelphia, PA
Call for Papers in PDF format

Important dates

Submission deadline: November 1, 2012 (Thursday) AoE (extended due to hurricane Sandy).
Rebuttal phase: Dec 4 - Dec 5. 
Author notification: December 21, 2012.
Camera-ready submission: Feb 10, 2013
Conference dates: April 8-11, 2013

Conference Scope

Hybrid Systems: Computation and Control (HSCC) focuses on research that involves a blend of concepts, tools, and techniques from computer science, control theory, and applied mathematics for analysis and control of dynamical systems that exhibit continuous, discrete, or combined (hybrid) dynamics. By drawing on strategies from both computation and control, this field offers techniques applicable to both man-made, cyber-physical systems (ranging from mixed signal circuits and small robots to global infrastructure networks) and natural systems (ranging from biochemical networks to physiological models). HSCC has long been a leading, single-track conference for such rigorous, interdisciplinary approaches to dynamical systems with an emphasis on computational aspects. Researchers from academia and industry are invited to submit manuscripts on their latest developments in this area.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Design, synthesis, analysis, verification, and control;
  • Computability and complexity;
  • Programming languages, specification formalisms, and software tools;
  • Real-time computing and resource-aware control for embedded systems;
  • Applications in areas such as automotive, communication and wireless networks,  avionics, transportation networks, energy systems, mobile robotic networks, environmental monitoring, medical devices, manufacturing, analog and mixed-signal electronics, systems biology, and other sciences;

HSCC 2013 will be held as part of the sixth CPSWeek (Cyber-Physical Systems Week) collocating HSCC, RTAS (Real-Time and Embedded Technology and Applications Symposium), IPSN (International Conference on Information Processing in Sensor Networks), HiCoNS (Conference on High Confidence Networked Systems) and ICCPS (International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems).

Submission Guidelines

Submitted papers should present original research that is unpublished and not submitted elsewhere.

Regular papers: no more than ten pages (in ten point, two-column ACM format) presenting original research or industrial applications of techniques for design and/or analysis of hybrid systems or their integration into industrial design flows.

Tool and Case-Studies papers: no more than six pages (in ten point, two-column ACM format) describing an implemented tool and its novel features, or a case study utilizing hybrid systems tools or techniques.

Workshops and tutorials:   proposals should be submitted through CPSWEEK through this link:

 All submissions should be made through the HSCC 2013 Easychair Website

Instructions (including style files and examples) for preparing papers can be found here .

Program Chairs

Calin Belta, Boston University, USA.
Franjo Ivancic, NEC Laboratories America, USA.

Program Committee

Alessandro Abate, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands.
Erika Abraham , RWTH Aachen University, Germany.
Aaron Ames, Texas A&M University, USA.
Manfred Broy, Technical University Munich, Germany.
Patrick Cousot, Ecole Normale Superieure, France.
Thao Dang , VERIMAG, France.
Domitilla Del Vecchio, MIT, USA.
Stefano Di Cairano , Mitsubishi Electric Control Laboratories, USA.
Alexandre Donzé , University of California Berkeley, USA.
Magnus Egerstedt, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA.
Georgios Fainekos, Arizona State University, USA.
Eric Feron, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA.
Goran Frehse, VERIMAG, France.
Antoine Girard , Universite Joseph Fourier, France.
Radu Grosu, Vienna University of Technology, Austria.
Klaus Havelund, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA.
Holger Hermanns, Saarland University, Germany.
Agung Julius, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA.
Xenofon Koutsoukos, Vanderbilt University, USA.
Kim Larsen, Aalborg University, Denmark.
Mircea Lazar, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands.
Jie Liu, Microsoft Research, USA.
Rupak Majumdar, MPI-SWS, Germany.
Ian Mitchell, University of British Columbia, Canada.
Sayan Mitra, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA.
Pieter Mosterman, McGill University, Canada.
Jens Oehlerking, Robert Bosch GmbH, Germany.
André Platzer, Carnegie Mellon University, USA.
Andreas Podelski, University of Freiburg, Germany.
Pavithra Prabhakar, IMDEA Software, Spain.
S Ramesh, General Motors R&D, India.
Stefan Ratschan, Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic.
Ricardo Sanfelice, University of Arizona, USA.
Sriram Sankaranarayanan, University of Colorado Boulder, USA.
Paulo Tabuada, University of California Los Angeles, USA.
Ashish Tiwari, SRI International, USA.
Verena Wolf, Saarland University, Germany.
Paolo Zuliani, Newcastle University, UK.

Steering Committee:
Rajeev Alur, University of Pennsylvania, USA.
Werner Damm, Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg, Germany. 
Bruce Krogh, Carnegie-Mellon University, USA.
Oded Maler, Verimag, France.
Manfred Morari, ETH, Switzerland.
Claire Tomlin, University of California Berkeley, USA.